States that require locksmiths to be licensed

States that require locksmiths to be licensed

Locksmiths are persons who are skilled in making and installing locks, deadbolts, keys and all other materials used in securing a home, car or business. They are also knowledgeable in rekeying locks, making duplicate keys or cards and generating or programming new keys/cards for locks,

In cases of a car or home lockout, locksmiths are the ones who are called upon to respond to these emergencies.

To regulate the locksmithing industry, some states in the U.S. require locksmiths to be licensed. This move also aims to prevent people from being scammed by those who claimed to be a locksmith but do not really have the expertise in making or repairing locks and deadbolts.

Of the 50 states in the U.S., only 15 require a license for locksmiths. These are Alabama, California, Connecticut, Illinois, Louisiana, Maryland, Nebraska, New Jersey, Nevada, North Carolina, Oklahoma, Oregon, Tennessee, Texas and Virginia.

But in addition to these states, there are cities and counties in the United States that also require locksmith licensing. These are the Nassau County in Long Island, New York City, and Hillsborough County and Miami-Dade County in Florida.

The state agencies that issue these licenses are the Electronic Security Board of Licensure in Alabama, the Department of Consumer Affairs/Bureau of Security & Investigative Services in California, the Department of Consumer Protection in Connecticut, the Division of Professional Regulation in Illinois, the State Fire Marshal’s Office in Louisiana, the County Clerk’s Office in Nebraska, the Division of Consumer Affairs in New Jersey, the County Sheriff’s Office in Nevada, the Locksmithing Licensing Board in North Carolina, the State Department of Health in Oklahoma, the Department of Commerce & Insurance in Oregon, the Department of Commerce & Insurance in Tennessee, the Department of Public Safety Security Board in Texas, and the Department of Criminal Justice Services in Virginia.

In the city of New York, the Department of Consumer Affairs is the one responsible for issuing licenses to locksmiths.

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *